realestatebusiness logo
Home of the REB Top 100 Agents

REIQ names newest tranche of zone chairs

By Orana Durney-Benson
12 December 2023 | 10 minute read
antonia mercorella reiq 2 reb bbizhl

The Real Estate Institute of Queensland (REIQ) has appointed 16 regional representatives to “lend their voice and local insights”.

The institute said that the 16 zone chairs “fulfil a vital role for the REIQ, representing the organisation at a local level and ensuring the Queensland peak body keeps its finger on the pulse throughout the state”.

Each newly appointed zone chair will serve for two years, starting from 1 January 2024. As well as informing the decision-making of the REIQ, the zone chairs will also serve as the face of the REIQ for their local communities.

REIQ CEO Antonia Mercorella explained that the appointment of specialist zone chairs is an essential strategy in a state populated with diverse, and often geographically disparate markets.

“Queensland has such a highly decentralised population, and so by nature is home to a series of quite different markets,” Ms Mercorella said.

“Just as the Brisbane market doesn’t necessarily mirror Sydney or Melbourne, we recognise that what’s happening in Queensland’s south-east corner real estate market won’t always be the case in regional markets.”

According to Ms Mercorella, one of the key purposes of the zone chairs is to provide invaluable first-hand insights into the sales and rental markets in Queensland’s regional hubs.

They also “provide boots-on-the-ground representation for our members in all corners of our state,” she said.

She shared that she’s “thrilled” to announce the REIQ zone chair cohort for 202425.

In Brisbane, Samantha Ellis will act as zone chair of the northern suburbs, Christie Smith will represent the southern suburbs, Julie Harris will return to represent the eastern suburbs, and Peter May will be the face of the western suburbs.

The zone chair for the Gold Coast is Andrew Henderson, Andrew Kenman will represent Ipswich, Matt Diesel will be chair for the Sunshine Coast, and Daniel Burrett will be chair of Toowoomba/Darling Downs.

Moving into Central Queensland, Bundaberg’s zone chair will be Kirralea Whittle, Gladstone’s zone chair will be Celina Solis, Mackay’s chair will be Allison Cunningham, the Fraser Coast chair will be Kim Carter, and the Caboolture/Redcliffe chair will be Scott Lachmund, and the Rockhampton zone chair will be Noel Livingston.

And up north, Tom Quaid is the new zone chair for Cairns, and Benjamin Kingsberry will be chair for Townsville.

REIQ names newest tranche of zone chairs
antonia mercorella reiq 2 reb bbizhl
lawyersweekly logo
You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!

Comments powered by CComment

Do you have an industry update?